fizzbickets

New iOS4 update for the iPhone and iPod Touch.

In Apple (Inc.) on June 22, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Yesterday, June 21, Apple released iOS4, a software update for iPhones and iPod Touches. However, it is only compatible with the second and third generation iPod Touches, and only the iPhone 3GS. I have an iPod Touch (2nd generation) and I must say, Apple did not disappoint. The main features that are new are the abilities to multi-task, make folders, and change your home screen wallpaper, well at least that’s what important to me. I am dissappointed by the fact that only 3rd generation iPod Touches and iPhone 3GS can use multitasking and the custom wall paper. I did however get the folders and I went from having five pages of apps to one screen of them. It does look very lonely though, so I’m going to get into more detail with my folders, rather than just ‘Games’ and ‘Non-Games’. Also new in this update is the iBooks app, which is good because I can read my summer reading book for free now, a unified mailbox, and a spell checker (yes that does mean you get that little red line now). Needless to say, I’m a little disappointed as a 2nd generation iPod Touch owner, but my iPod is running smoothly, my most used app (FaceBook) is now running significantly smoother. Plus my YouTube app is functioning like it should be.

Once you download the software, you’ll be able to see the difference. Apple has done a great job and I hope that they include the 2nd generation in the next software update, ’cause it doesn’t look like I’mmoving on from my iPod Touch.

A more detailed list can be found once you click right here

Leave a Reply

